National Catholic Youth Leaders’ Convention in Mangaluru

❤️ Spread the love ❤️ |

Mangaluru, Jan. 16, 2017: National Youth Convention of Catholic Youth leaders from India which will be held Jan. 14 to 22 at St Joseph Engineering College, Vamanjoor, will focus on promoting leadership among youth.

Over three thousand youth leaders from across India will attend the convention. The theme of the convention is, “Touched by Jesus, Walking His way” and the focus would be on – preparing tomorrow’s leaders today.

Organized by the Indian Catholic Youth Movement (ICYM) under the auspices of the Youth Council of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India (CBCI), the tenth National Convention will be hosted by the Karnataka Region and Mangalore Diocese in collaboration with the dioceses of Udupi, Belthangady and Puttur.

The convention will be inaugurated by Minister K J George, Minister for Bangalore & Urban Development and presided over by Most Rev. Bernard Moras, Archbishop of Bangalore. Local Member of Parliament Sri Nalin Kumar Kateel, MLA JR Lobo, MLC Ivan D’Souza and others will be guests of honour.

Noted educationist of Rayan Group of Institutions Madam Grace Pinto will deliver the keynote address.

President of CBCI Cardinal Baselios Cleemis, Major Archbishop of Ernakulam, Cardinal George Alencherry, and President of the Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (FABC) and Archbishop of Bombay Cardinal Oswald Gracias will address the youth.

Over eight thousand youth will hold a peace rally on Sunday, Jan. 22. The peace march will begin from Rosario Cathedral Church and culminate at St. Aloysius College grounds. There Justice Kurian Joseph, Supreme Court Justice will address the youth on Constitutional Rights and Duties – Youth Responsibility.

ICYM is the largest Premier Catholic Youth Movement. It is spread over 171 dioceses in India and across 627 districts in India. Started in 1999, ICYM strives to promote integral development of youth through formation, fellowship and action.

ICYM caters to varied needs of the holistic development of its young members. With its motto – “To Lead, to Serve, and to Shine” for the youth of India.

The National Youth Convention (NYC) was  started in 1989,  it is held once in three years in any one of the fourteen Ecclesiastical Regions of India.  The  triennial event helps the youth to evaluate, and chalk out plans for the coming years.

Bishop of Bellary Henry D’Souza is the present chairman of CBCI Youth Council and Fr. Deepak Thomas, Executive Secretary. Bishop Vincent Ma Paulose of Marthndom and Bishop Joseph Pandarasseril council member Bishops. Sijo Ambatt is the National President of ICYM and Jenny Joy Secretary General.


Bishop Henry D’Souza
Chairman, CBCI YCon


Bishop A.P. D’Souza
Bishop of Mangalore


Fr. Deepak Thomas
Secretary, CBCI YCon


Fr. Mari Joseph
Secretary, KRCBC YCOM


Sijo Ambatt
President, ICYM India


Vipin Paul
President, ICYM Karnataka


Fr. Ronal D’Souza
Director, ICYM Mangalore


Jackson D’Costa
President, ICYM Mangalore
Director CCC Admin
Director CCC Admin

Post a comment

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp
Share on email