Mangalore Bishop ordains five deacons to priesthood at Rosario Cathedral

❤️ Spread the love ❤️ |

Report by Fr Anil Fernandes Rosario & Br Gleron
Pics By Roshan Mogarnad

April 17, 2018 : The Catholic Church in Mangalore rejoices with songs of praise and glory to God as 5 of her sons were ordained to the Priesthood. After 8 years of formation and ecclesiastical studies and 6 months of Diaconate Ministry Dn Rohan Dias, Taccode, Dn Roopesh Tauro, Allipade, Dn Ashwin Crasta, Kumbla, Dn Flavian Lobo, Thodambila, Dn Thrishan D’Souza, Permannur were ordained to the Priesthood by His Excellency Dr. Aloysius Paul D’Souza, Bishop of the Diocese of Mangalore during the Solemn High Mass at Our Lady of Holy Rosary Cathedral today, April 17, 2018 at 3:30 pm.

Ordination is the sacramental ceremony in which a man becomes a deacon, priest, or bishop and enabled to minister in Christ’s name and that of the Church. There are three ordinations in the Sacrament of Holy Orders: diaconate; priesthood; and episcopal. The ordination ceremony includes various rituals, rich in meaning and history, e.g., prostration, laying on of hands, anointing of hands, giving of the chalice and paten, sign of peace. Having received their Diaconate Ordination in June, 2017 the Deacons were eagerly waiting for the day of Priestly Ordination.

Concelebrating todays Holy Mass were the Vicar General Rev. Dennis Moras Prabhu and 130 other priests of the Diocese and in attendance were the families and friends of our New Priests numbering around 1500. Fr Vijay Machado (Director of Liturgical Centre Bajjodi) the master of ceremony in the introduction explained the entire Rite of Ordination to the congregation present.


Soon after the gospel reading Very Rev Fr Joseph martis Rector of St Joseph Seminary presented the 5 deacons to the Church and asked the bishop to ordain them. After inquiring if they are worthy to be ordained, the bishop accepted the request of the priest. A meaningfully homily on the Importance of priesthood and missionary spirit of the Church was given by the bishop. This was followed with the Rite of Ordination with Deacons (now new priests) coming forward and making their promise of Obedience to the Bishop, Prostrating and seeking help of the saints, laying on of hands invoking the Holy Spirit, anointing of the Hands, receiving the chalice and finally the Kiss of Peace given by bishop and followed by all the priests present.

Soon after the Holy Mass there was a short felicitation program honoring and congratulating the Newly Ordained Priests Fr Rohan Dias, Fr Ashwin Crasta, Fr Roopesh Tauro, Fr Flavian Lobo, Fr Thrishan D’Souza and their family members. Very Rev. Fr J.B Crasta Rector of Cathedral welcomed the gathering. Very Rev Fr Henry Sequeira, Chancellor of the Diocese greeted the new priests with the words of felicitation. Rev Fr Flavian Lobo expressed his deep sentiments of gratitude on behalf of all the new priests. Rev. Fr Vijal V. Lobo compered the felicitation program.

Director CCC Admin
Director CCC Admin

Post a comment

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp
Share on email